A Benchmarking Study of Selected ASET Oriented Universities in Africa and China

Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta


The Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta is one of the three specialized Universities of Agriculture in Nigeria. It was established by the Federal Government in January, 1988, its foundation day being the 28th January, 1988. The establishment of the Universities of Agriculture was an entirely new concept for promoting agricultural education and services for agricultural development and attainment of self-sufficiency in food and fibre.

The University of Agriculture, Abeokuta started at its mini campus in Isale-Igbehin in the centre of Abeokuta, the capital of Ogun State. The University moved in October, 1995 to its permanent site, which is located next to the Ogun-Osun River Basin Development Authority (OORBDA), off the Abeokuta-Ibadan road in the North-Eastern end of the city. The University started with 6 Colleges and 18 Academic Departments.

The Pioneering Vice-Chancellor was Professor Nurudeen Olorunnimbe Adedipe, a Professor of Plant Physiology who assumed duty as Vice-Chancellor on the foundation day.. Professor N. O. Adedipe was succeeded by Professor Julius Amioba Okojie, a Professor of Forest Management & Biometrics. Professor Okojie is currently the Executive Secretary, National Universities Commission, Abuja. The exit of Professor J. A. Okojie as Vice-Chancellor of FUNAAB brought in Professor Israel Folorunsho Adu, a successful Professor of Ruminant Nutrition and Management with special emphasis on small ruminant, who came into office in September 2001. A short interregnum brought in an Acting Vice-Chancellor in person of Professor Ishola Adamson, a Professor of Biochemistry between August, 2006 and May, 2007. The immediate past Vice-Chancellor, Professor Oluwafemi Olaiya Balogun, a Professor of Animal Biochemistry and Nutrition was appointed the fourth Vice-Chancellor on 24th of May, 2007. His tenure witnessed a remarkable leap in terms of infrastructural development in the University. These great icons created indelible marks on the face of this unique institution. The University had from its inception consistently witnessed tremendous and remarkable growth and development under its past and present Vice-Chancellors, who have immeasurably contributed to setting the institution on a landmark of success.

In 2002, the University won its first major award by being adjudged the best overall University in Nigeria in terms of organisation and quality of programmes. The University won the best specialized University award and the then Vice-Chancellor, Professor I. F Adu won the best Vice-Chancellor award in Nigeria. The University in addition won the maiden edition of research fair organised by the National Universities Commission (NUC) in 2004.

Presently, the Vice-Chancellor of the University is Professor Olusola Bandele Oyewole, a seasoned Professor of Food Science, who assumed duty as the fifth substantive Vice-Chancellor of the University on 24th May, 2012. The University has since his assumption of office, witnessed qualitative leadership, great drive towards making the Institution a world class University, in addition to unperturbed peace and tranquility.

The Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta in its tradition of excellence has continued to produce, through its endowed human and material resources quality graduates who are well skilled and adequately furnished with the comprehensive information required for engaging in economic agricultural production. Presently, there are 46 Academic Departments and 9 Colleges in the University.